Vintage style

Last week I (Wendy Gardiner) thoroughly enjoyed a one-day workshop in at The Cloth Kits shop in Chichester. For me it was supreme pleasure to spend the day sewing – for myself! Together with fellow students and ably taught by Maria Pully, a bespoke bridal designer, I made a vintage 1950s style dress in a day. It was fun, relaxing and so rewarding to leave with a dress all complete. Since then, I made a full skirted net petticoat to wear under the dress and just so happen to have the perfect shoes to go with it. The full review of the workshop is going in issue 41, on sale end April, so look out for it.

This week my task is to make some more bunting (I am teaching bunting making at Stitch & Craft exhibition on Thursday and Saturday next week in Olympia, London) and make some samples using the Simplicity bias binding making machine which I am presenting on Ideal World on Saturday. I’ve also got some dresses and skirts all cut out but not sure I’ll get them done too as actually, I do have to write articles etc for Sew Hip! It’s all good though. I love the fact that I can do what I love for work.

Comments are closed.

