An Afternoon With… Amy Butler

We had a chat with the lovely Amy Butler in issue 37 (out today!) but there was too much exciting stuff to fit in the magazine, so here is the rest of the interview for you:

What are you working on at the moment?
I am working on my Quilt Market booth (which will be built in my living room this week), my Qm brochure, new sewing patterns, my next four fabric collections, my new yarn projects for my Autumn/Winter 2012 release, my next stationery launch, my new rug collection and wallpapers. Just to name a few – it’s a busy time right now!

Any plans to open your own stores?
Not at the moment, but I have been approached by others who think this is a good idea. If I do open stores I have to create something special that doesn’t exist and gives back to others not just in a material way. I’ll work on that!

Which women do you admire the most?
My Mother, my grandmother, and any woman following her heart and living her dream.

Which other designers do you admire?
I admire everyone that picks up the tools and does the work. Honestly, it’s such a personal experience. Through having this creative business I’ve been able to meet so many fantastic artists and become friends with them. I gain a great deal from being with them and sharing in our creative experiences. It’s inspiring and it feels wonderful to see their passion in action. The person at top of my favorite designer list is my hubby David Butler. In the 25 years we’ve been together I’m continually inspired by his vision and talent. He and I have created some beautiful things together, but it’s what he does with his unique voice and abilities with his design and illustration that blows me away. If you’re not aware just yet, Dave just launched his first fabric collection for Free Spirit! It’s drop dead gorgeous and I can’t wait to bring it into our home! You can meet David and his beautiful Parson Gray brand at www.facebook.com/parsongray

What do you get up to in your free time?
I love to travel for inspiration and try to squeeze in a big garden tour adventure every year. I love to garden, listen to music, dance, cook, hang with my friends and family, knit, bead, take lake breaks, read and eat!

You’re an inspiration for many sewistas out there – how do you feel about this?
I feel wonderful about this! Gosh, I am so humbled and inspired to do more. These sewistas are equally inspiring to me. It’s a gift to get to share what I love and to see that expressed in others. My biggest joy is seeing what sewists make with my projects or fabrics, their heart in the project takes it to another level. I thank God every day I get to do what I do.


What’s it like working with your hubby every day?
Something familiar and something new every day. It’s great. We enjoy each other and have developed some elevated relationship skills that have helped us navigate the days that are more challenging. The coolest thing is we’re both growing and learning all the time, always supportive of each other. This energy is wonderful, never stagnant and always interesting.

What do you love most about your job?
The freedom to reinvent everything. I have the opportunity every day to live what rests in my heart. I’m also so very proud of everyone at my studio. They take an active role in defining how the business operates and I love seeing how they take such good care of each other and our customers and partners. We guide with our hearts and strive to make life better for everyone that crosses our path.

Comments are closed.

