Meet the Team… Technical Editor, Sarah Noble

Today you’ll be meeting our wonderful Technical Editor, Sarah!

What does a typical day involve for you?

Once the school run is done and the house is tidy (does that EVER happen?!) I usually sit down and try to squeeze in a bit of work before collecting my son from nursery. I might even get to do a spot of sewing if I’m lucky! Then my son and I spend the afternoons going for bike rides, visiting playgrounds or seeing friends until it’s time to collect my daughter from school. After that it’s back to mum duties until bedtime. Depending on how much I get done in the morning, I might work again once the children are asleep.

 

How does being a mum fit in with work?

This September is uncharted territory for me; it’s the first time that both my children will be at school at the same time. I’m rather looking forward to having a few extra hours in my day, and boy do I need them. Before now it’s been quite tricky to get all my work done in the few childless hours I have. Luckily, working from home is a godsend as I can just work in the evenings if I need to. Maybe now though I’ll have time to put my feet up once in a while!

What’s the best and worst parts of your job? Honest!

Best – Seeing all the lovely projects that are submitted and being filled with ideas and inspiration.

Worst – Seeing all the lovely projects that are submitted, being filled with ideas and inspiration, and not having time to make any of them!

 

What is your workspace like?

I work on the dining room table so I’m usually surrounded by unopened letters, half-finished cups of squash and colouring pencils!

 

What’s something surprising about your job that you think readers would be interested to know?

When I tell people what I do, they usually ask how I have time to make all the projects that go into the magazine each month, but I never actually have to make anything! I piece them all together and ‘make’ them in my head.

 

What have you learnt about the rest of the Sew Hip team since being here?

That they are a dedicated and very friendly bunch with lots of ideas and a great shared vision for Sew Hip. We all have different tastes which is great, especially when we’re all tackling and interpreting the same project.

 

What are you doing right this minute (apart from answering these questions)

Cooking a chicken pie for dinner, and explaining Horrible Histories to the kids. Oh, the glamour!

 

Do you have anything exciting planned for the rest of the day (work and personal-wise)?

I need to do a few illustrations for Vick, then I’ll be working on a budget plan for a house renovation that we are hopefully about to undertake, probably accompanied by a glass (or two) of Pinot Grigio (after I’ve done the illos of course!)

 

What’s your favourite wine?

If I’m being forced to choose, it would have to be Pinot Grigio.

 

If Sew Hip was a vegetable, what would it be and why?

If Sew Hip were a vegetable, it would be a plump home grown pea: you can’t wait to crack it open to get to the exciting stuff inside which you just know is going to be delicious.

Comments are closed.

