A few of our favourite things

Wow, you guys love a give away don’t you? I love reading all the comments as they come through, keep them coming, there is still time to be in with a chance to win a lovely bundle of goodies from the Sew Hip offices.

I’m sitting here on a Sunday morning, surfing around some of my favourite fabric blogs and thought I’d share them with you. In no particular order here are a few interesting snippets and links I have in my current read list. Many of them are US so if you know of any equally inspiring UK links please leave them in the comments.

Bari J quilt pattern – I love the collage border on this, its something I’ve never seen before.

Anna Maria Horner and her lovely new baby boy. I’m so inspired by this woman and everything she does. She is talented, a great mother and really super nice as well.

Film in the Fridge. I’m obsessed with Ashley’s quilts at the moment, how does she make so many of them and so beautifully as well?

Matilda Jane blog. Some of the clothes are not quite my style but I love a lot of them and I’m fascinated by the concept of the company.

One Shabby Chick. Again, I love her quilts and her sense of colour and style. There is a quilt in her etsy shop that I’ve coveted for ages. Go and buy it quickly so that I don’t have to!

Weekend Designer. I love the tutorials and how this site makes pattern drafting seem so easy.

Cicada Daydream. I’ve been a big fan of Michelle’s blog ever since she sent us some of her lovely Dogwood fabric which we made into 2 projects for the magazine.

Comments
13 Responses to “A few of our favourite things”
  1. Pinktulip says:

    Thanks for the links! I visit most of these blogs but The Weeekend Designer is just up my street! I plan to make a few of those dresses soon! This weekend I decided to make a overdress (pinafore) with some tweed fabric and whilst looking through my small collection of patterns, I remembered the “Summer Dress” from Sew Hip! No 6. With a few small tweaks, it was perfect! My issues are starting to show wear and tear as I seem to refer back to them all the time. I LOVE your magazine and look forward to my next issue soon. Keep up the great work. It’s the best sewing magazine ever!

  2. Jennie says:

    I am a new reader from the US and would love to subscribe. If I subscribe through the website can I start with issue 7? It says it starts with the next issue on sale, but I have issue 6 and I really don’t want to miss a single issue! 🙂
    Please let me know so I can submit my subscription ASAP.
    Thank You!
    Jennie

  3. Andrea says:

    I really like the patterns which come with th magazine. It is all there to use straight away with clear instructions. Best subscription I hafe had in years. I have read in issue 8 that there is a flickr group, is anyone allowed to join?
    xx

  4. Jacqueline says:

    Thank you for the links! It’s always nice to find new blogs. Have a lovely merry happy first week of june. 🙂

  5. Catherine says:

    Hi
    Yes, there are some there that I like too – although you’re right – they are mostly US sites. What is that, are we not keeping up over here?! I’m on a mission now to find some more UK based ones. Loving Sew Hip by the way, it’s a huge breath of fresh air; it’s quite rare to find a magazine which is so completely up your street! Can’t believe I missed the giveaway. Another one soon please, pretty please?!
    Catherine

  6. Happy Zombie says:

    Lovely links – thanks. I love seeing what’s caught the eyes from across the pond.

  7. Kay says:

    Hi, great links – loved seeing Anna Maria Horner’s new baby! Cicada daydream also lovely.

    Since you asked for more, how about this one: http://www.fairtradefabric.co.uk

    Fair trade fabric supplies, based in the UK. Limited design range, mainly solid colours, stripes and checks, but might be of interest to anyone interest in ethical fabric supplies? (like me!) They do fat quarter packs and one charm pack as well.

  8. Hey there. Thanks for the shout out. 🙂

  9. denise says:

    Oh, I love you guys for mentioning my blog…You so made my day..you have no idea…I feel next to famous….thanks

  10. Carol Stripe says:

    Weekend Designer has posted for the 100th and final time. Great blog with loads of info.

    It is September already – how time flies

    • Fantastic set of links guys, I have given you a well deserved fab review on my blog dedicated to what i affectionately refer to as vintage pastimes! Hope you check it out, and keep up the good work.

  11. Cyndall says:

    JUST got Issue nine here in California and I’m just drooling! I just happened to come across it at the store and I’m totally hooked! You can expect my subscription here very very soon!

    Keep up the blog in the mean time, I’d love to see what your up to!!

  12. Chris Gamble says:

    I love sew hip because there is always something a little different and out of the ordinary to look at and make. I keep going back to it time and again and always find something different each time. It is never far from my side. I love the pages about different books – I have bought loads through your adverts and found loads more different fabric companies than I ever thought possible.

