Jumping girls

girlsindresses

Does anyone know just how hard it is to get 3 girls to jump at the same time without any one of them looking ridiculous?  If you’ve seen a copy of Sew Hip 3 you may have noticed the pillowcase dresses in there, with 3 daughters of our staff jumping around in wellies and dresses.  We had such a hysterical time trying to get them all to jump at the same time as having all 3 of them (and the dresses) look amazing.  I think we pulled it off in the end, but not without a huge number of out-takes!

These pillowcase dresses are a great way to experiment with sewing.  They are so simple to make and can be customised to suit you and your child. My eldest daughter lives in them over the summer months, they are great to wear on their own or layer over a swimming costume or T shirt.   You don’t have to use a pillowcase either, just use any fabric that is about the same size as a pillowcase.  That will mean more cutting and stitching but the end result will be the same.  

We’re setting up a flickr group for any Sew Hip projects that you make, we’d love to see photos of your little ones jumping in their pillowcase dresses!

Comments
4 Responses to “Jumping girls”
  1. bex says:

    i cant wait to make one of these for my boyfriends baby sister…i wonder how they would look in a grown up size?? i think the pictures you took were great and as usual i thought the mag was wonderful
    take care
    xx

  2. Marquita says:

    I’ve been looking for the flickr group but I couldn’t find it. Has it been set up?
    I was brought from London Issue 1 and number 2 and 3 are on their way. I can´t hardly wait for them.
    Congratulations!

  3. victoria may says:

    Hi, You can see my daughter jumping in the “upcycled dress” in my etsy shop.

    I have three children and when I want to take a photograph of all three, one is usually pulling a silly face!
    It is known that children and animals are the most difficult of subjects to photograph: that old chestnut is sooo true! My dog always turns the wrong way for photos!

  4. William says:

    I extol the valuable post you offer in your post. I will bookmark your site and have my children check up here oftentimes. I am rather sure they will learn lots of new stuff here than anybody else!

