Preview of issue 1

Well, the moment that you’ve all been waiting for is here.  The pages are done and with the printers and here for its grand unveiling is the preview page for Issue 1 of Sew Hip.

http://www.sewhip.co.uk/issue1.html

We hope you love it as much as we do.  This magazine has been a pleasure to put together, Manda has done a fantastic job and it all looks amazing.

Not long now till the grand unveiling at the Knitting and Stitching show in Ally Pally, London.  All pre issues and sub copies will be on their way week beginning 6th October and then the magazine will be on the news-stands from 31st October.  

Now, back to issues 2, 3 and 4.

Comments
38 Responses to “Preview of issue 1”
  1. Joanne says:

    Congratulations! It looks great and I can’t wait for my issue to pop through the letter box.

    I’ll also look out for you at Ally Pally 🙂

  2. Vonnie says:

    Ooooh I’m so excited!! I just had a look at the preview page and I will be going straight away to the baby bloomers and blouse set.

  3. Camino Uribe says:

    Ooooh! I can’t wait to see it in my mailbox!! This is sooooooo exciting! No need to say it looks GREAT!!!

  4. donna says:

    So exciting. Can’t wait to see it and will definitely look int advertising 🙂

  5. julie says:

    looks brilliant – well done to everyone (having worked in magazine production in the past I know how much work goes into getting it all together!) Looks like it’s going to fly off the shelves!

  6. Ickle Pickle says:

    Congratulations 🙂 I can’t wait to get my hands on the first copy. It looks fantastic 🙂

  7. periwinkle says:

    my local newsagents has been watching his lists so he can order some copies but as yet nothing is showing – can you tell me the name of the publishers so I can tell him?
    Lisa x

  8. Elli says:

    Looks pretty exciting, There is such a gap for exciting and modern craft magazines, as what seems like the only person into dressmaking in Inverness, well if there were more there might be some fabric shops, and definately the only one under 100. can we have a chat or notice board bit, as mentioned I am a long way from the rest of the UK and would love to chat or ask questions easily.

  9. Barbara says:

    I’ve been so excited waiting for this magazine and this morning issue one dropped through my letter box much earlier than I’d expected. I love the look of it – fresh and bright and very modern. After a quick look through over tea and toast I’m so impressed with the variety of patterns and articles. There are things I want to make right now and things I know I’ll be able to make with the children. Good to see the printing project for wee ones too. I know I’ll be curling up against the foul weather and reading this more thoroughly over the next few days and look forward to issue 2 – the bag with the dog on looks adorable!
    Well done you all and long may it continue! Bx

  10. kelly says:

    yipee! i got my copy today + it is absolutely fantastic : ) it’s like looking through my favourite blogs on paper + what a treat too. can’t wait to sit + read it cover to cover tonight by the fire. congratulations on the 1st issue ladies…i think you have a real winner on your hands + the hard work has definitely paid off. hugs all round! xxx

  11. Naomi says:

    I was lucky enough to be at Ally Pally yesterday and read my copy cover to cover on the way home. I have already cut some pieces out for the bunting! What a lovely magazine, can’t wait for the next issue!

  12. ros says:

    Issue No.1 arrived yesterday – looks great! Congratulations! will be ordering a subscription!

  13. Louise says:

    Oooh, looks just the ticket, at last a sewing magazine I actually want to buy. Can’t wait for it to hit the news stands!

  14. Sascha says:

    Bravo, well done!! Very impressed to see Sew Hip arrive on my doostep the morning here in Cyprus!

    What a freat read, I look forward to reading every single issue. Will definitely be subscribing for the year

    all the best

    Sascha

  15. Sascha says:

    What a Great Read! So excited forgot to check the typing!

    best wishes

  16. Camino Uribe says:

    I see people is recieving their magazines!!! As long as I am in Spain I suppose it will take longer but… I can’t wait!!!! I’m so excited!

  17. Lucinda says:

    Oh, this sounds exactly what I’ve been looking for – a sewing magazine that isn’t written for my mom:) Will it be available in the USA? I would love to purchase a copy!

  18. Peta says:

    Mine arrived yesterday here in Australia, I was very happy I expected it to take longer. I can honestly say it’s the first time I’ve read a magazine from cover to cover! Can’t wait for the next issue!

  19. Kate says:

    I have just subscribed and am very excited. It is about time we had a modern sewing magazine that is not aimed an older crowd, shall we say?!

  20. Katy says:

    I got my issue delivered to Queensland Australia this week. I have to say that it is now my favourite magazine, i read it cover to cover. So many great stories about inspirational people doing hat i would love to do in the future, designing fabric. The tutorials are great and even the ads are interesting! Great Job and Well done!

  21. Janet says:

    Just what we’ve been waiting for. Thankyou so much. My copy arrived last week and I just can’t put it down.

  22. Grainne says:

    The first edition of Sew Hip! is fantastic.
    Congratulations!

  23. Michelle says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE the magazine. I just bought it today at the Knitting & Stitching Show in the RDS and have come home and curled up on the sofa and devoured it. It’s sew hip and sew cool and sew what’s needed on the market!! Can’t wait for the next issue!! :o) I just adore the mini kitten and hope to make one this weekend and get a pic up on my blog michellemadethis.blogspot :o)

  24. Janet McCully says:

    Loved issue no. 1 which I bought today. Will subscribe, but the form says “starting with issue 1” which I’ve already got!

  25. sus says:

    Love it!!! At last a sewing craft mag that is not dedicated to card makers…..or full of embrodery that will never see the light of day , the mag is modern , fresh and bright, up to date and traditional all in one, and no, I am not a twenties something, I am one of the “older” readers referred to my one of your readers, who has been quietly sewing and knitting and craftin g….all of a sudden the young things have discovered how fantastic creating can be, welcome to the fold all!!!!

  26. Rosie Graham says:

    Fantastic magazine! just what we have been waiting for.
    Can’t wait for the next issue.
    Rosie

  27. Melanie says:

    I’ve subscribed and the things which struck me in this 1st issue is that it has a finger on the blogging pulse and you can’t get more up to date than that! I like that there are a variety of project types which are useful and decorative not just decorative. I’m looking foreward to Christmassy makes in the next issues and maybe adult clothing too as I don’t have small children.

  28. anji jane says:

    Sew Hip is everything I ever wanted in a magazine. The patterns are wonderful, I would make them all if I had the time. The articles are very inspiring. A subscription is on my Christmas list!

  29. Janet says:

    Hi. Loving SEW HIP. Love the fact that it is fresh and inspiring. I was in my local W H Smiths last week and rearranged their craft magazine section by putting all the copies of SEW HIP at the front of the stand! I don’t have small children now but the rest of the mag will be put to good use. xxxx

  30. Ulrike says:

    I stumbled upon Sew Hip in Borders (Bristol) yesterday and read it from cover to cover last night What a brilliant magazine! Congratulations to everyone involved! This is the most modern, interesting and relevant sewing magazine I have ever read. Absolutely loved it an am going to subscribe today. Keep the good work up! 🙂

  31. Diane says:

    Delightful! I eagerly awaited my copy via subscription and it was worth the wait. This type of magazine is so needed today.
    A big thank you from me! I can’t wait for Issue 2 😀

  32. Sarah says:

    I saw the magazine sat on the shelf in tesco today and had a quick flick through, bought lunch then realised i had to buy it! its fantastic, i read it all the way through as soon as i got in from collage. Cant wait to get started on some of the projects they all look great i especially love the fun with kids one, even though i’m too young for kids i’m gonna give it a go anyway! Cant wait to see the next issue!

  33. Well done SEW hip is a great magazine for all us sewers out there good mix of modern items well done… good luck

  34. Laura says:

    Well done on such a fantastic magazine. I’m very much a newbie in the sewing world and it provided lots of inspiration and was easy to understand. The magazine is very fresh and I even enjoyed the adverts … it’s not very often you hear that about a magazine!! I can’t wait for issue 2 🙂

  35. I ordered issue 1 of SewHip recently as it looked like exactly the type of magazine I need. I was not disappointed when my copy recently arrived! I love the magazine but I do believe the subscription is very expensive. I must also mention that I am very disappointed that this blog is not updated more regularly. It would be so nice to see a post once or twice a week to tell us what is coming in next issues. I am sure it will also improve your sales. I am considering spending the money for a subscription as a birthday present to myself though! I am delighted that you started this lovely magazine for us!

  36. What a fantastic magazine! I can’t wait to make a start on some of the projects 🙂

    Liz x

  37. Emma says:

    LOVE the magazine! It’s just what is needed. I have spent the last hour making the Little Tote bag (pages 28 – 31). I’ve made it for a little girl who is going to be 5 on Thursday. It’s gorgeous – and so simple to do!

    I had to change the handle size though, when I made them they came out tiny. I changed them to cut the material 2 inches x 10 inches.

    CAn’t wait for the next issue – keep up the good work!!!

  38. L says:

    That’s great.

    I work for Robson & mason Haberdashery, and I’d be interested in reading a copy to see if its something that suits us.

    Best Wishes.

