Welcome to Sew Hip!

Want to know more about SEW Hip? Read on….

Why?
Because SEW Hip knows that no matter what your age or ability is you still want original, contemporary patterns and designs . That you want to know what’s out there, where you can get it and how you can make it yourself. And that most of all that you want to be inspired to have more fun and try new things with your sewing.

What?
You can expect 10 issues a year, packed from cover to cover with at least 8 brand new, never before published patterns as well as interviews with both well known and new to the scene designers and makers. The newest products, books and commercial patterns reviewed in every issue as well as original sewing ideas to suit your children or just the child in you. SEW Hip is a sewing magazine that knows just how cool sewing really is.

Who?
The first issue includes patterns and interviews by many successful designers and makers, including :

Amy Butler – Fabrics, bags, clothes, in the most gorgeous prints that are now available over here in the UK. 

Prints Charming -Australia’s internationally loved fabric designers and their wonderful quilts – including a pattern to make yourself.

Alicia Paulson – stitcher extraordinaire. Beautiful stitching, beautiful pictures and beautiful ideas.

Sandi Henderson – Learn all about Sandi and her fun, vibrant and totally original fabrics.

Amy Adams – successful and experienced pattern designer and her wonderful soft toys that you can make.

The blog here is still a work in progress, we’ll finish prettying it up in the next week or so and then begin blogging regularly to share lots of interesting news with you all. 

Comments
32 Responses to “Welcome to Sew Hip!”
  1. Marianne says:

    How exciting! Love the logo!

  2. Camino Uribe says:

    I’m making my subscription right now, this is soooooooo cool!!!!!!!!

    I want to congratulate you for making european subscription so easy, in other magazines i’ve gone crazy trying to buy a subscription from Spain, but now I just need to click a button!!!

  3. habitual says:

    Congratulations and I look forward to the new magazine. Hopefully I will be able to get it here in the states. Otherwise, I look forward to reading about it here!

  4. Vonnie says:

    I am so excited to finally see a modern publication aimed at our generation, I will be subscribing and spending the next three months in gleeful anticipation 🙂

  5. Kristy says:

    Sounds like a great idea.I was only laughing at the ‘craft’ mags in WH Smith the other day.So dated.I am sure there is a huge market for a more upto date mag.

  6. Sound fabulous! woohoo

  7. imaginiff says:

    Congrats!
    I can’t wait to see the first publication. With all this talent it’s sure to be a hit!

  8. Megan says:

    How very exciting! I’m looking forward to getting my hands on the first issue. I’m in the US, though. Any chance it will be on the shelves here??

  9. Tricia says:

    how exciting.. I read most of your blogs anyway and now I just have more inspiration!! YA! So excited, I can’t wait to see the first copy!!

  10. Amber says:

    How exciting – and I just pre-ordered my first issue!! Can’t wait to see it!

  11. Estee says:

    Good luck with the launch and i look forward to seeing your first issue.

  12. Ickle Pickle says:

    I can’t tell you how excited I am about a new sewing magazine, very much needed in my opinion,especially one that promises to be hip. I can’t wait to see some sneeky peeks of issue one. Not out until the end of October you say, you sure know how to tease us don’t you LOL

    Rachel-Louise

  13. Cara says:

    Woo – I’m so excited by this, I think the timing is spot on for Christmas too – please make sure there’s some gift ideas that I might casually be able to leave lying around for the Husband to spy! Can’t wait 😀

  14. oohh – how exciting!!! i’m always looking for a crafty magazine where i would actually make the stuff inside – sounds like i might well of found it now! Looking forward to issue 1 :0)

  15. sarah says:

    Congrats on the new magazine, its a great idea and im so looking forward to the first issue.
    Sarah x

  16. MrsMK says:

    Hey, I’m in!! Can’t wait to read it! (((i heart Manda!)

  17. I just popped over and ordered the first issue! Hopefully someone here in the US will carry it!

  18. Concha says:

    Hello from Lisbon! I’m so happy to know that there will be a hip, modern sewing magazine out there! We crafters / bloggers are so glad! 🙂

  19. Frances Dewar says:

    I have just retired after 39 years of teaching children to sew. I thought I was almost extinct but new magazines like your restore my faith! I still want to learn new things- to experiment with new techniques. I plan to attend courses on computer aided fabric design and another about fabric books. I will be subscribing- who knows- I might even have something to contribute! Good Luck and Well Done. I can’t wait to see the first issue. Mrs Frances Deawr

  20. kathlann says:

    Hi.I’m really looking forward to seeing this. May I make a suggestion. Could it be geared more towards the dressmaking end of things? Where I live there are loads of craft and quilting magazines but only 3 deal with dressmaking! Good luck with the launch.

  21. Julie Nelson Rhodes says:

    This does sound very exciting – will you be featuring any Japanese patterns for clothing/accessories/whimsies? And I will be subscribing too! Though where I’ll keep another pile of magazines is anyone’s guess … in fact, can we have a pattern for a fabric magazine holder?!

  22. Sascha says:

    Very excited!!! very much looking forward to reading your publication! Is there anyway a pre-issue could be sent to Cyprus???
    Good luck with the launch

  23. Sascha says:

    Silly me!!! (it is early morning here) I have now ordered the pre-issue and very much look forward to reading it in Cyprus!!

    very exciting…

  24. Julia says:

    This magazine sounds like it’s exactly what I’ve been looking for.Would like to wish everyone who’s been working on it the best of luck with it’s launch!

  25. RuthieK says:

    Can you tell us a little more of the balance between garment sewing and other? I have no real use for stuffed animals and quilting, but love to sew my own clothing.

  26. xstpenguin says:

    New sewing magazine in the UK, FOR the UK, got to be good. But we (and we are out there, believe me) don’t just want to make bags and toys, we want to make clothes. New, original, current clothes. Please!?

  27. will order the magazine and can’t wait to see it in my postbox. congrats to all involved.

  28. Sheila says:

    Wow, this looks amazing!

  29. Clair C says:

    It looks fab but I’m afraid found it very disappointing. There are many mistakes and omissions in the patterns and it is very biased towards American and Austrialian fabrics and designers. I dont’ think I’ll be buying any more copies.

  30. I just stumbled upon your site. Your publication looks cool! Congrats.

  31. bex says:

    Thankyou so much!!! I just brought the magazine today and it was exactly what i had been searching the magazine racks for!!! I found the interviews in this issue soo intersting and the reviews great!! I think you guys should really give yourselves a tap on the back because i think this mag is amasing.
    thankyou
    xx

  32. Jenni says:

    Hi

    I really enjoyed the first issue and am eagerly awaiting the next!

    It is so good to find a fresh sewing/craft mag on the shelves. There are so many mags out there aimed at paper crafts but not much other than traditional mags aimed at those who love to sew and play with fabrics … I’m loving it!!

    Thanks
    J

